† James Cotton

small:James Cotton

Superharps united: Blues Legend James Cotton is SEYDEL endorsee.

James “Superharp” Cotton, came out wailing 73 years ago and it has taken nearly that long to unite with his Superharp, the SEYDEL 1847!

Cotton plays hard, and now he blows through reeds as strong as the permanent steel roadside marker erected by the state of Mississippi to commemorate his 1935 birth, at the crossroads of Highway 61 and Bonnie Blue Plantation Road.

Some of Cotton's earliest memories are imprints of harmonica sounds as he heard his hardworking mother passing the few, precious moments of free time with chicken and train sounds, or filling the night with her gentle harmonica lullaby.

As a small child, he thought he had explored the limit of the instrument after mastering his mother's music. Then, one day at high noon, he glimpsed an auditory snapshot that would change his life forever as his ears strained to hear the mysterious, hypnotic cadence of Sonny Boy Williamson pouring his life force into a wood comb and 20 vibrating reeds and through a single crackling speaker in the family's AM radio, its vacuum tubes glowing like the hell-hot, brutal sun that parched the Mississippi landscape.

He practiced when he could. After hauling water to exhausted cotton-field workers, the young Cotton escaped the brutal heat for a few moments at a time by sitting in the shade cast by the plantation owner’s horse and expressing himself on the harp in his newly-found language.

By age 9, Cotton was an orphan and within a few weeks, he was living on the road and playing with Sonny Boy Williamson. He was still a teenager when he played for Howling Wolf and was still a very young man when he joined Muddy Waters, so by the age of 22, he had played harmonica for three of history’s most influential and legendary blues bands, filling shoes vacated by no less giants than Junior Wells and Little Walter.

Cotton is among the last of the Chicago bluesmen who made the harmonica much of what it is today. He has won several Grammys and W.C. Handy awards, as well as a multitude of other honors, but perhaps the greatest honor is musical immortality - when people think of the harmonica, they think of that Chicago sound Cotton helped create, and still blasts out to this day.

Besides the Grammy for "Best Blus Album Of The Year" for his latest Album "Cotton Mouth Man" in 2013 he now won the Mississippi Arts Commission Governor's Liftime Achievement Award...watch the video below:

 

 

When asked to honor Little Walter at Walter's recent Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction, Cotton poured out his classic Chicago sound blues with SEYDEL stainless steel reeds. He's also using the 1847s to record his latest live album at Washington D.C.'s Blues Alley.

SEYDEL, the world’s oldest harmonica company, is pleased that its superharp, the 1847, is now the harp of choice for one of blues’ greatest legends, Mr. Superharp himself, James Cotton.



back
† James Cotton
JavaScript is disabled. Unfortunately you can not use the services of the shop not or only partially.

James Cotton †

small:James Cotton

Superharps vereint: Blues Legende James Cotton ist SEYDEL Endorser.

James “Superharp” Cotton, der vor mehr als 73 das Licht der Welt erblickte, brauchte fast genau so lange um seine persönliche Superharp zu finden, die SEYDEL 1847!

Cotton spielt hart und jetzt hat er eine Mundharmonika mit Stimmzungen, die genauso stabil sind, wie die stählernen Gedenktafeln, die der Staat Mississippi zu seinen Ehren an seinem Geburtsort an der Kreuzung des Highway 61 und der Bonnie Blue Plantation Road aufstellen ließ.

Einige von Cottons ersten Erinnerungen sind Mundharmonika-Klänge im „Chicken and Train“-Stil , die seine hart arbeitende Mutter in ihrer freien Zeit spielte, oder auch in der Nacht, wenn sie für ihn ein Schlaflied spielte.

Als kleines Kind, als er so spielen konnte wie seine Mutter, dachte er er hätte die Grenzen des Instruments erreicht. Aber an einem Vormittag hörte er einen kleinen Soundschnipsel, der sein Leben für immer verändern sollte – seine Ohren wollten unbedingt diese misteriösen Kadenzen hören, mit denen Sonny Boy Williamson sein eigenes Leben in einen Holzkamm und 20 vibrierende Tonzungen bließ – das alles schallte durch den krächzenden Lautsprecher des einzigen Mittelwelle-Radios der Familie und die alten Röhren glüten auf wie die brutale Sommersonne, die die Landschaft von Mississippi ausdörrte.

Er übte, wenn er konnte. Nach dem Wasserschleppen für die ausgemergelten Baumwoll-Arbeiter flüchtete sich der junge Cotton für einige Momente in den Schatten des Pferdes des Plantagen-Besitzers und lernte eine neue Ausdrucksweise in seiner neu entdeckten Sprache.

Mit neun Jahren wurde Cotton innerhalb weniger Wochen zum Vollweisen, lebte auf der Straße und spielte mit Sonny Boy Williamson. Noch als Teenager spielte er mit Howling Wolf und war ein junger Mann als er mit 22 Jahren zur Formation von Muddy Waters stieß, wo er in die Fußstapfen der Blues-Harp-Legenden Junior Wells und Little Walter trat.

Cotton ist einer der letzten Chicago Bluesmen die die Mundharmonika zu dem machte, was sie heute ist. Er hat einige Grammys und W.C. Handy awards gewonnen – erhielt unzählige anderer Auszeichnungen, aber die größte Ehre ist wohl die Unsterblichkeit seiner Musik – wenn man an Mundharmonika denkt, denkt man auch unmittelbar an den Chicago Harpsound, den Cotton mitgeprägt hat und der bis heute gespielt wird.

Als man ihn fragte, die Lobrede für Little Walter bei der letzten Rock’n Roll hall of fame Nominierung zu halten, spielte Cotton seinen klassischen Chicago Blues Harp Sound auf einer SEYDEL mit Edelstahl Stimmzungen. Er hat die 1847 auch bei den Aufnahmen für sein neuestes Album (auf Blues Alley Washington D.C.) genutzt. Neben dem Grammy für das beste Album des Jahre 2013 für seine CD "Cotton Mouth Man" gewann er 2014 den Mississippi Arts Commission Governor's Lifetime Achievement Award - für sein außergewöhnliches Lebenswerk - aber schauen Sie selbst im Video unten: 

 

 

Wir bei SEYDEL, der ältesten Mundharmonika-Fabrik der Welt, sind sehr stolz, dass unsere Superharp, die 1847, jetzt auch die erste Wahl von einer der größten Blues Legenden ist - Mister „Superharp“, James Cotton.



> James Cotton's Homepage
zurück
James Cotton †
JavaScript ist deaktiviert. Leider können Sie die Funktionen des Shops nicht nicht oder nur eingeschränkt nutzen.